IXAS Awards and Poster prizes winners

IXAS EC Election2015

The new members of the Executive Committee are:

Vice chair Matt Newville
Position 2 (North America) Joshua Kas
Position 4 (Europe) Katarina Norén
Position 8 (At large) Sofia Diaz-Moreno
Position 9 (Other regions) Shinjiro Hayakawa



Please visit the IXAS portal to find the updated EC profile



IXAS Awards2015

The IXAS Awards have become a tradition and an important part of the XAFS conferences. Three IXAS awards were handed out to the winners at XAFS16 in Karlsruhe. The IXAS Chair formed the Awards Committee consisting of five voting members representing different scientific areas. Nominations with CV and recommendation letters were received by the Awards Committee which selected the winners by voting.


  • IXAS Young Scientist Award (Dale Sayers Prize)

2015 Award: Narciso Souze-Neto (Brazilian Synchrotron Light Laboratory)

  • IXAS Young Scientist Award (Farrel Lytle Prize)

2015 Award: Amelie Juhin (French National Centre for Scientific Research, Paris)

  • IXAS Outstanding Achievement Award (Ed Stern Prize)

2015 Award: Majed Chergui (Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne) and Andrea Di Cicco (Università di Camerino)


Details of the IXAS Awards 



XAFS16 successfully closed

The 16th X-ray absorption fine structure conference (Aug. 23-28, 2015 in Karlsruhe, Germany) and related meetings in Hamburg, Stuttgart and Berlin were held with more than 550 participants from 37 countries. The organizers are grateful for such a large turnout and the active participation of the XAFS community. A report on the conference will appear in the XAFS16 web and the XAS Research Review. The conference proceedings will appear in the Open Access Journal of Physics: Conference Series (JPCS). For the first time an XFEL- and an industrial session were integrated with great success. For more information, please visit: www.xafs16.org


  • Bruce Bunker (Former Chair)
  • Pieter Glatzel (Chair)
  • Jan-Dierk Grunwaldt (XAFS16 Chair)



Poster prizes

  • Christopher J. POLLOCK et al., Dual Analyzer Valence Emission Spectrometer for Two-Color X-ray Emission Spectroscopy
  • M. KUBIN et al., Understanding Photosynthetic Water Splitting – Towards Mn L-edge Spectroscopy on Photosystem II
  • Juliane REINHARDT, et al., High-Resolution Chemical Imaging with Hard X-Ray Ptychography
  • Fabio IESARI, et al., Local symmetry in liquid metals probed by x-ray absorption spectroscopy
  • Shunsuke NOZAWA, Excited-state Molecular Structures of Metal Complexes Measured by Time-resolved XAFS